Better than Google!

By Cheryl Mahoney

I’ve never been one for getting away from it all.  Maybe you’re the same way–there’s too much going on here. So while I have huge respect and admiration for people who take mission trips to Costa Rica and the like, that’s never been my style.  I like to work things into the rest of my life instead, like a weekly trip to volunteer at a local charity.  And I love it when I can find something good to do on a daily basis that fits right into my life.

That’s why I love GoodSearch.com.  Most of us search online at Ieast once a day, usually much more than that. The truth is though, I rarely google anything.  I like to goodsearch things instead.

Goodsearch is a search engine powered by Yahoo which donates half of its revenue to charity–and you can help choose which charities receive the money.  Basically, you choose an organization or non-profit from their list (which has thousands of possibilities, so whatever your cause is, I’m sure it’s here), and then every time you do a search, money goes to your chosen charity. It works out to about one cent per search.  Some would argue that isn’t very much, but how often do we each search the internet every day?  And if you put together my pennies and your pennies and everyone else’s pennies…  The ASPCA has raised almost $19,000 dollars–that sounds like real money to me.  Besides…it’s giving to charity, it doesn’t cost you anything, and it’s something you do every day anyway.  How can you go wrong with that?

GoodSearch doesn’t have all the advanced features that some other search engines have, so if you’re looking for maps you might still be over on Google for that search.  But if all you want to know right now is when Walden was first published (1854), or who originally said “You must be the change you wish to see in the world” (Gandhi), or the best charity to come out of San Francisco : ) www.universalgiving.org, GoodSearch will get you there.

So next time you’re thinking about who does pizza delivery in your neighbourhood, maybe think about helping out a charity that feeds people. Searching makes cents!

Leave a Reply

