Why I Am Involved by Mario Flores Ruiz

Thinking of an explanation for my passion for social change leads me to inevitably think about my family. My father has a passion for politics. Every time I talk to him about the political situation of Peru, my home country, it always leads to a discussion about the factors that impede the integral development of our people, as well as the opportunities that we can use as a country. We always end up with more questions than answers and after every conversation; I can feel my father’s hope for young people to make a change, especially his children, to who he always repeats that the maximum inheritance that he can leave to us as a parent is not money but our education.

My brother studied sociology and inspired me to pursue a career in social science and my mom’s commitment to improve the life of our neighborhood is inspiring for some and incomprehensible for others. My family is an important part of the explanation about my passion. However, there are other influences beside my family that led to my passion for social change. A big example of that is the series of trips that I made in 2014, product of my work as a researcher in a consultancy agency.

Thanks to this experience I had the opportunity to travel to areas that I otherwise would not have known. Areas that are disconnected from the main economical centers and its accessibility are precarious. Areas where public goods and services are scarce and the public authority is very weak. Areas impacted by mining activities at all levels and yet have failed to reach development.

How to help? And, most importantly, from where? Since 2012, I have been trying to answer that question. I already had experience in development corporations from the Peruvian government, also from the private sector, but I still had not experienced the NGO world. Luckily, I found one opportunity that not only has a non-profit, but also a corporate side. That means that I have the opportunity to help on two fronts, the non-profit industry on one hand and corporate social responsibility on the other. That is what Universal Giving means to me, a shortcut in my ongoing quest to solve one of the main questions that guide my life.

—✶—

En Español:

Encontrando una explicación a mi pasión por el cambio social me lleva irremediablemente a pensar en mi familia. Mi padre es un apasionado por la política. Conversar con él sobre la coyuntura del Perú, mi país, siempre conlleva a una discusión acerca de los factores que impiden el desarrollo integral de nuestra gente, así como las oportunidades que el Perú podría aprovechar para ello. Siempre acabamos con más preguntas que respuestas, y yo en lo personal, después de cada conversación, puedo sentir la esperanza de mi padre por que los jóvenes hagamos un cambio, en especial sus hijos, a quienes siempre repite que la máxima herencia que nos puede dejar como padre no son los bienes o las propiedades sino nuestra educación.

También podría hablar de mi hermano, el sociólogo, aquel que me inspiro a estudiar una carrera en ciencias sociales, o de mi mamá quién es una dirigente vecinal, líder por naturaleza, cuyo compromiso por mejorar la vida de su vecindario es inspirador para algunos y para otros, inentendible. Ellos son parte importante de la explicación. Sin embargo, también hay factores independiente s a mi familia, como los viajes realizado en el 2014 producto de mi trabajo como investigador en una agencia consultora.

Gracias a dicha experiencia tuve oportunidad de conocer zonas que de otro modo no hubiera conocido. Zonas que se encuentran desconectadas de los principales centros económicos, y cuya accesibilidad es bastante precaria. Zonas donde los servicios y bienes públicos escasean, y dónde la autoridad pública es muy débil. Zonas impactadas por la actividad minera en todos los niveles y que sin embargo, no han logrado el desarrollo.

¿Cómo ayudar, y más importante, desde dónde? Desde el 2012 llevo tratando de contestar dicha pregunta. Ya me ha tocado vivir la cooperación para el desarrollo desde el gobierno peruano, también desde el sector privado, sin embargo aún tenía pendiente el mundo de las ONG. Felizmente, me encontré con una oportunidad que no sólo tiene el lado de no lucrativo, sino que además tiene uno corporativo. Es decir, no solo tengo la oportunidad de ayudar desde la industria del Non-Profit sino además desde la Responsabilidad social Corporativa. Eso es para mí Universal Giving, un atajo en mi constante búsqueda por resolver una de las principales preguntas que guían mi vida: desde dónde ayudar.

—✶—

Mario Flores Ruiz is a corporate client services intern at UniversalGiving.

Leave a Reply

