Imagine

By Trevor Sipos

I’ve always found that listening to music is a simple way to achieve piece of mind.  The melodies of a good song can take us away from our problems and let us feel more positive emotions.  However, a beautiful song with powerful lyrics can not only influence our moods, but also shape us as people and inspire us to make important changes in our lives and the lives of others.  John Lennon’s song, “Imagine,” has had this kind of impact in my own life.

The things that Lennon says in his song resonate with me deeply.  “No need for John Lennongreed or hunger … nothing to kill or die for…”  He speaks about a world where everyone is not so divided and peace has been achieved.  He goes on to say, “You may think I’m a dreamer but I’m not the only one, I hope someday you will join us and the world will be as one.”  This song speaks volumes about the power of unification.  Alone it can be hard to make a large impact but when you find people who are also inspired to make a difference then a lot can be achieved.

Getting involved with UniversalGiving has been one of the greatest decisions in my life.  The company’s vision of “creating a world where giving and volunteering are a natural part of everyday life,” is an inspiring goal to live by.  Here, I work with coworkers who share my belief that giving donations and volunteering one’s time and effort can and will make a positive impact in the lives of those who need help.  My world-view has changed after becoming more aware of all the crises that occur in the world and the less than desirable living conditions that many face on a daily basis.  I know that my time with UniversalGiving will give me a better perspective on how to help others and enjoy my own life!

If I had to make one recommendation from what I have learned, I would say that you should live in the moment as much as you can.  It’s like the Lennon song goes,”Imagine all the people living for today.”  Think about what you could do right now that would make someone’s life better.  Whether that is smiling at a stranger, writing a letter to an old friend, or donating your time or money towards a cause, it all makes a valuable difference!

 

Leave a Reply

