From Corporate to Social

icon-1302201_1280.png

By Natalia Junger

By now we have all heard about the bug of the moment – millennials and their dissatisfaction with their jobs. This is not the biggest problem in the capitalist world we live in, but it has definitely risen to the surface in the last few years. I have seen estimations that said approximately 80% of people are unhappy by doing what they do. That is a very sad number and one I can personally relate to. During last year, after a long time gathering courage, I decided to quit my job as a lawyer and follow a career closer to my heart.

Here’s some background: after six years of study, I found a job in a top ranked law firm. Everything was going well, except for the fact that I hated my daily routine. Getting that job was a dream I thought I had, but after some time there I could see that that was not the life I wanted for myself. I didn’t relate to the work, to its purpose, or to the firm’s culture. I felt empty and confused at the time.

Finally, I realized I didn’t care about the status, the income and the respect a law career can offer if I was unhappy with what I did.

So I quit.

I thought leaving that job would be the best thing I ever did and I would feel happy every day, but the exact opposite happened. I had never felt more lost in my life. It took me about a year to peel off those expectations and the pressure of others to be able to look within my own repressed feelings and see what my passion really was.

Not long after that, I decided to come to San Francisco, where I found out I am not the only one in the world trying to reconcile my job with contributing towards the development of a better world. To work in a social impact organization has been a true fulfillment for me. Not only do we help NGOs around the globe, but also support and encourage that feeling of selfless giving that sometimes completes an empty space inside us. Finding and following my passion into the nonprofit world, the world of helping and giving, has been so fulfilling for me and I would never look back.

Leave a Reply

